Thursday, November 26, 2009


When: December 19 2009
Where: Metrowalk OrtigasTime: 8:00 pm

Another event for the local motorcycling and scootering community. WE ARE THE MODS! WE ARE THE MODS! WE ARE, WE ARE , WE ARE THE MODS!

Friday, November 20, 2009


It's the time of the year again for the local vespa/scootering community to be one. Let's Go!!!
Click here for the schedule of activities.

Saturday, November 7, 2009


This is a great set by "The 4th best band in Hull". Great sound recording, all clear and crisp. The Housemartins was formed by Paul Heaton and Stan Cullimore in 1983. Cullimore answered an ad by Paul in the papers that said "Trombonist needs street musicians around the city". They recruited Ted Key on bass and Dodger on drums which was replaced by Chris Lang. The lineup changed over the years - Ted Key left in 1985 and replaced by Norman Cook (Fatboy Slim) and Chris Lang was replaced by Hugh Whitaker and then was replaced by Dave Hemingway.
They broke into the mainstream by way of the single "Happy Hour" in 1986 that reached #3 on the British charts. At the end of 1986, they got their on #1 single the a capella version of "Caravan of Love" though some some fans rejected this style from the band and accused them of being sell-outs although a cappella material had always been part of the band's repertoire.
The band released two albums - "London 0 Hull 4" in 1986 and "The People Who Grinned Themeselves to Death" in 1987, both under Go Disk Records. "London 0 Hull 4" was re released as a de luxe edition with a bonus disc. I hope I could get a copy of this edition cd in the future. The Band split in 1988 and the members still remained friends and worked on each others projects. Norman Cook will enjoy success in Beats International and as a DJ known as Fatboy Slim while Paul Heaton, Dave Hemingway and Sean Welch formed "The Beautiful South".
The Housemartins sounded as good as their recording with a mix of Marxist ideologies and Christian beliefs thrown in. You know the drill - play this loud and enjoy!

(From left: Dave Hemingway, Paul Heaton, Norman Cook, Stan Cullimore)

1.Think For A minute
2. Heaven Help Us All
3. Over There
4. Sheep
5. Were Not Deep
6. Anxiuos
7. Me And The Farmer
8. Happy Hour
9. I'll Be Your Shelter

Sunday, November 1, 2009


Much of what made the Clash the greatest of all punk bands was their embrace of the rebel music that predated them -- channeling the sounds and spirits of reggae, rockabilly and classic R&B, Joe Strummer and Mick Jones created a deep, far-reaching attack bolstered by a rich understanding of the same rock & roll establishment they sought to destroy. Compiled by Clash bassist Paul Simonon, Revolution Rock: A Clash Jukebox assembles 21 vintage tracks that profoundly shaped the band's music, some resurfacing as covers on their albums or in their live sets. Time has done nothing to diminish the power and intensity of songs like Junior Murvin's "Police and Thieves," Toots & the Maytals"' "Pressure Drop" and Lloyd Price's "Stagger Lee," and it's a sad commentary on contemporary music that the protest spirit so potent throughout Revolution Rock seemed to die with the passing of Joe Strummer. Paul chooses songs with a "Clash connection", that is, original versions of songs the band may have played or attempted in their early years.
Trojan is a longstanding, quality label that has undergone such a rebirth over recent years, it’d make any reggae fan cry tears of joy. This is a great compilation and one you won’t regret nestling in your collection to be pulled out in time for your next party where it truly deserves to be heard.

01. Roadrunner - Jonathan Richman and the Modern Lovers
02. I Can't Control Myself - The Troggs
03. Israelites - Desmond Dekker
04. You Can't Judge A Book By Its Cover - Bo Diddley
05. Dead End Street - Kinks
06. King Of The Road - Roger Miller
07. Pop Goes The Weasel - Anthony Newly
08. Brand New Cadillac - Vince Taylor and His Playboys
09. Blitzkrieg Bop - The Ramones
10. Police & Thieves - Junior Murvin
11. Pressure Drop - Toots and The Maytals
12. Time Is Tight - Booker T and The MGs
13. Something In The Air - Thunderclap Newman
14. I Fought The Law - Bobby Fuller Four
15. Stagger Lee - Lloyd Price
16. Wrong 'Em Boyo - The Rulers
17. Revolution Rock - Danny Ray
18. Dance Crasher - Alton Ellis
19. Armagideon Time - Willie Williams
20. Junco Partner - James Booker
21. Look Here - Mose Allison


Rare rocksteady and early reggae cuts from Duke Reid's Treasure Isle label. This is a more soulful and vocal centered compilation of rare and classic songs from Reid's music vaults, less scratchy compared to the "dirty reggae" of '69. A must have for all - skinhead or not. Enjoy!

01.- Bluebirds Flying Over - Silvertones
02.- Moonlight Lover - Landis, Joya
03.- Moonlight Groover - Wright, Winston
04.- Hey Girl - Melodians
05.- Sweet Soul Music - Gladiators
06.- If You See Jane - Yardbrooms
07.- Remember That Sunday - Ellis, Alton & Phyllis Dillon
08.- Love Up Kiss Up - Termites
09.- Black Coffee - McCook, Tommy
10.- Mother's Tender Care - Ethiopians
11.- Those Guys - Sensations
12.- My Girl - Adams, Glen
13.- I Wish It Would Rain - Techniques
14.- Lonely Night - Melodians
15.- Ali Baba - Holt, John
16.- Ease Me Up Officer - Jarrett, Winston
17.- Lipstick On Your Collar - Dillon, Phyllis
18.- You Were To Be - Gladiators
19.- Darling Please Return - Barons
20.- My Desire - Yardbrooms
21.- Moonwalk - Wright, Winston
22.- Boom Shacka Lacka - Lewis, Hopeton & The Chosen Few
23.- Every Day Will Be Like A Holiday - Sensations
24.- Hopeful Village - Tennors
25.- Moon Invader - Wright, Winston
26.- Angel Of The Morning - Landis, Joya